Tags

, , , , ,

sunday-sevens-new-logo

If you’re new to Sunday Sevens, welcome and come on in — we’re celebrating one year since Our Fearless Leader, Natalie of Threads and Bobbins, got the whole thing started.  Many thanks to Natalie!

This has sort of been home improvement week here.  I don’t know, maybe it’s the change of seasons that makes you want to clean up and start over, but there has been much hanging of pictures and washing of wall quilts and sorting of things to take to Goodwill.

One of the pictures that still needs to be put up–a comforting phrase in sunshiney yellow, my favorite!

009

The biggest accomplishment was sorting through and organizing all the bike mess in the garage.

005

This is my partner’s work table and I really wish I had a “before”picture–this was a big job and took both of us most of Saturday to sort out.  You never saw so many nearly-identical brackety-things in one place as we had in here when we started.  Now much more manageable and he can actually find things!

Also:  BONUS SEWING STUFF!

I scavenged this pile of hardware from bike bag straps my honey threw away.  Some of it is a bit mysterious, but some will definitely be put to use.

003

After I finished my Summer Crush dress, I was itching to get back to my scrap quilt blocks, but decided to be a RESPONSIBLE ADULT and take on this pile of mending before I ran off and did the fun stuff.

006

Then I remembered how much I hate mending.

So the pile is still sitting there . . . and my partner keeps adding to it.  😦

Made a little bit of progress on my embroidery, but I’m not exactly burning through that project, either.

008

I did cook some nice things this week, though (maybe that’s why I’ve been so tired and unproductive?)

I’ve been tinkering with this recipe forever, and finally feel like I’ve got it where I want it.

001

I added sliced onion, bell pepper, and mushrooms to the marinated chicken and cooked the whole mess in a grill pan on the barbecue.  I put the chicken and vegetables on some brown rice and seasoned black beans, then topped it with some chopped tomato and green onion, a little cheddar, and the sauce.

SERIOUSLY good.

And this–a Greek bread called Ladenia–was part of tonight’s dinner.  I also made a Potato, Squash, and Goat Cheese Gratin and added some grilled sausage at the last minute to make the resident carnivore smile.

007

I’ll take another shot at that mending pile tomorrow.  Then I want to make a valance for my tiny and very bare bathroom window.  And maybe get back to those neglected scrap quilt blocks.

Have a wonderful week, everybody.

STH

