Tags

, , , ,

001

Up in the hills outside Prosser, scouting out a new cycling route.  As my partner said, “My God, there really is fuck all out here.”  Yep.

WIP = Work in Progress

Happy Wednesday!

Since we last saw our heroine, she has done, well, this:

001

It doesn’t look like much, does it?

That’s actually something in the neighborhood of 680 1 1/2″ x 6 1/2″ rectangles for this quilt:

008

There was also this, for the black and white wall quilt:

004

I tried my best to get Ms Wiggly in the picture, but she wasn’t much interested in color-coordinating with my fabric.

The lap quilt was supposed to only (ONLY) require 576 rectangles, so I cut them and was happy to be finished.  Then I got to thinking about how nice it would be to have this queen sized for my bed, and how a border would get it almost there, and I decided to add another column of blocks.  Which meant another 96 rectangles, so much that I used up almost all of my black and white scraps and had to buy a couple more fat quarters to finish up.

There’s a lot of time to think when you’re cutting 680 rectangles.

I did a lot of thinking about the most efficient way to cut my oddly-shaped bits of fabric, of course.  And about how I learned to entertain myself with my own thoughts as a child, when the consequences of not sitting still in church or school were pretty severe, but there wasn’t much in the environment to entertain me.  And I worked on some ideas for my ideal fantasy home in the woods–you know, the one with the $20,000 long-arm quilting machine, and the massive garden that doesn’t require any weeding, and the cabin that I fix up FABULOUSLY and maintain all by myself despite having none of the skills required to do so.

This is what got me started on that: it’s an abandoned cabin built on the friends’ property where we stayed for the eclipse.  Apparently, it started life as a picnic shelter and just sort of grew from there.

003

Rustic yet cute.

002

OMG.  I wonder if my friends realize they NEED a quilt artist in residence?

Sigh.

I hope to make some good progress on my blouses this week, as the weather is turning a bit cooler (YAY) and they’ll be perfect for it.

Have a great week and find yourself some fun wherever you can.

STH

