Tags

, , , ,

004

So much happy color here!

WIP = Work in Progress

I had a busy Memorial Day weekend over on the west side of the state, so not much sewing happened the past few days.  I spent this afternoon making a start on my niece’s baby quilt, though.

If you recall, this is the pattern I’m using (I’m planning to add borders to get it to a better baby size):

paisley_splash

And these are my fabrics, sale (of course) flannels from good old Joann’s:

010

Plus scraps from the stash for all the “splashes” at the top of the quilt:

004

Some of these have been hanging around a while!

I haven’t done a machine appliqué (guess who figured out how to do accents!) quilt in forever, so I’ve been studying this for days.  Then I realized that I had a package of Lite Steam-a-Seam and I could just use the instructions on that and quit confusing myself with all kinds of different options.

I’m sure there’s a nifty quick method for enlarging things, but I don’t know what it is, and I wasn’t in the mood for more research, so I went old school.

001

Getting the fusible web where it’s actually supposed to be–off the paper and onto the elephant–was a bit fiddly, but I blame it on the large size of the appliqué.  Or maybe the web gets troublesome as it ages?  I honestly have no idea how long I’ve had this package hanging around . . . .

I eventually got it done (more or less) and this thing is going to be super cute!

002

I think I’m going to have fun with this one!

I’m tentatively planning to try some spiral quilting on this quilt, which I think would work with the quasi-psychedelic quality of the pattern.

Have yourself a colorful Thursday and I’ll have some pretty pictures from green and sunny Bellevue for you on Sunday.

STH

