Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

014

Mossy trees near Multnomah Falls, Oregon.  Scroll down for more green.  😉

Make-A-List Monday is an idea that I borrowed from Sarah Craig over at Confessions of a Fabric Addict and I thank her for inspiring me to try it!

Busy week with everything BUT sewing!  I didn’t even bother to make a list last week, but this week should be better.  Here are my plans:

  • Make my new purse!  I’ve been wanting to make myself a new cross-body purse for a while now, and I finally settled on this one:
Carkai Gatherer Crossbody Bag by Anna Graham for Robert Kaufman

Photo from Noodlehead link above.

I’ve already got mine cut out–using fabric scraps from the stash, of course–and I’m using this super cool nylon jersey (stabilized with interfacing) for the front flap.

LOVE THIS FABRIC SO MUCH OMG

001

The outside will be this black textured fake suede and the lining a Laurel Burch fabric.

003

I suspect black piping and some nifty glass beads will be involved, as well.  😉

  • Cut out my new wallet.  Also something I’ve been pondering for a while, as I’ve been wanting a way to grab all the essentials quickly when I want to go out for a walk.  This one is exactly what I had in mind–I can just stick my phone in the outside pocket, snap a strap onto the wallet, and go.  This could be quite the challenging pattern; it actually comes with a long list of warnings!
(9) Name: 'Sewing : Professional Zip Around Wallet

Photo from Craftsy link above.

  • Finish the cat scratcher and get the class proposal ready to go.
  • Do better on healthy eating and exercising.  As I’m hoping to be employed soon (should find out how my job interview went at the end of the week, by the way), I’ve been thinking about what I might need to sew to complete my work wardrobe.  Then I realized that I’d have a lot more work clothing to choose from if I could get rid of that extra 5 or 10 pounds I picked up over the winter.  Hmmm . . . .

 

And now on to the tree pr0n!

I spent the weekend in Newberg, OR, while my honey rode his bike for 600 kilometers.  We took the scenic highway home and took a few photos on the way.

006

The Columbia Gorge, taken from the Women’s Forum viewpoint.  All kinds of dramatic sky and cloud stuff happening.

016

We hiked up to the little bridge part way up Multnomah Falls; this is the top half of the Falls.  (So beautiful, but it’s in all the Oregon guidebooks, so the area’s always so crammed full of tourists that there’s no room to move.  We were there on a Monday morning, so it wasn’t too bad.)

011

Near the base of the Falls.

023

Columbia Gorge, taken at Rowena Crest.

021

Another angle of the view from Rowena.  Not shown:  the gale-force winds trying to knock me over as I took the picture.  They were kind enough to blow away the clouds, though.

(I am linking this post up to Scraptastic Tuesday over at She Can Quilt.)

Have a great week, everybody!

STH

 

 

 

