Tags

, , , , ,

012

Pooh and Shelby demonstrate the proper way to pass a cold, gray January (and Shelby gives me side eye for waking them up).

I feel like this post should be subtitled “not dead edition.”  Yep, I’m still here, just got sidelined for a bit by depression.  But I’m not going to write about it.  It’s boring, frankly–boring for you, and really, really, supremely fucking boring to me.  I already spend too much time focusing on what’s wrong and what’s hurting; these lists are about what I’m doing to move forward, so let’s talk about that for a few minutes.

(Make-A-List Monday is an idea that I borrowed from Sarah Craig over at Confessions of a Fabric Addict and I thank her for inspiring me to try it!)

My last list was done on 1/11 and I did get some of it done, though not as much as I would have liked.

  1.  Put the damn button on the last damn item of mending. 

Done!  This sweater from the Eddie Bauer outlet crosses over in the front and I was always having to adjust it–oh, how I hate clothing you have to fiddle with!–so I sewed a button through both layers to hold them in place.  You can’t really tell, but it’s a pretty etched silver-colored button.

008

2.  Make the boxes for my desk drawers and get all the stuff in there.

Done!  I love them so much, but I’d just like to mention here that they took totally freaking forever to do.

009

The old wood desk that my sewing machine is on has these deep, narrow drawers and I wanted a way to organize my sewing stuff in them that would allow me to see what I had and also be deep enough to use a good portion of the available space.  And I liked the idea of boxes that I could just pull out of there to, say, carry my pattern weights to the dining room table for fabric cutting.

011

You can see here that I made two deep (6″ tall) boxes and four 4″ tall ones per drawer.

The sides of these are constructed like pillows with pieces of plastic canvas inserted in them rather than pillow forms (I hope that makes sense–I’m having a hell of a time writing clearly with the bad case of depression brain I’ve got going).  Then I slip-stitched the ends closed.  The four sides of each box were slip-stitched together, then slip-stitched to the base, which was made the same way as the sides.  I used interfacing in the first box, but it didn’t really seem to add much to the support that the plastic canvas was providing, so I skipped interfacing the rest of the boxes.

016

And I realized, as I was doing all the aforementioned slip-stitching, that I have a certain way of thinking about sewing projects that perhaps is a bit misleading.  My typical train of thought goes something like this:  “Oh, this should be a quick project!  I just have these few seams to do on the machine, then a little hand-sewing, and I’m done!”  Then I get frustrated when the “little hand-sewing” takes ten times as long as doing the seams on the machine.

017

So these took a lot of hours of hand-stitching over a week and a half or so–I even managed to give myself an overuse injury, a pain on the inside of my right elbow, that’s slowly fading.  I’m really happy with them, though, and love being able to find all my little bits and pieces.  (Just a reminder–if you ever want more complete instructions or a tutorial on something that I’ve made, just let me know.  I’d be happy to do that.)

(This is my first finish for the 2016 Q1 Finish-Along, number eight on my list.)

3.  Finish the cross-stitch clock. 

Nope, didn’t get to this one.

4.  Check the fit on the wool jacket and cut out the lining.

This didn’t happen, either.

 

So, goals for this week (what’s left of it, since I want to get back to doing Monday lists):

  1.  Complete my self-care checklist every single day.  MUST MUST MUST.
  2.   Check the fit on the wool jacket and cut out the lining.
  3.   Cut out the purple knit top.  BECAUSE JANUARY REQUIRES PRETTY PURPLE THINGS.

001

4.  Put the binding on the new mug rug I made for my desk last night.  I’m almost done spiffing up my sewing room and it’s going to look so great!

018

I hope you guys are having a great week and January isn’t getting you down.  Take care.

STH

 

