Tags

, , ,

Yep, I’m still alive.

Just skipped Sunday Sevens this past week because we didn’t get home from Oregon until Monday afternoon, and the post probably would have been Tuesday Sevens, and that wouldn’t do at all, now would it?

I do have a new bag to show you, though, a birthday present for my BFF Heidi.

011

I had wanted to make her a bag for her birthday, but played it safe and asked her earlier in the summer what kind of bag she’d like.  It turned out she had been thinking about a new bag to replace the little cross-body one she uses for her camera and other essentials when she travels.  She had definite ideas about how big it should be and what pockets it should have.

And she wanted it in a neutral color so as not to draw too much attention to it.

Um . . . what?  NEUTRAL color?  SUBTLE color??????

So I looked and looked, through all my summer travels, for a heavy-weight, sturdy fabric in a subtle color that was as cool and funky as my friend.

I don’t know that I found it, but my first thought when I saw this fabric was that I’d seen her wear all the colors in this, so it must be her kind of thing.  Plus, it was a home decor fabric–so super sturdy–but also washable, an essential requirement for purse fabric, as far as I’m concerned.

(Will you LOOK at the stripe matching here.  I didn’t even have to break a sweat doing it, just cut the large piece for the front, then sliced it into two so that I could put the front pocket zipper in there.)

005

To compensate for the SUBTLETY of the exterior of the bag, I went with this very cool and colorful batik for the lining.

012

And I added a fun little pocket inside, just big enough for an ID or a tube of lip balm.

008

Close-up:

001

(The embroidery pattern is from Craftsy.)

I think the zipper technique in this tutorial is my favorite (so far), so that’s what I used here.  I wanted the front pocket lined and nicely finished, too, so I basically used the same method for that zipper as well (minus the tab).

009

I put an ivory ribbon and a small stone bead on the pull of the main zipper so that it’s easy to find and grab without looking.

And, no, there was no pressing of this with the iron–the home decor fabric has a weird rubbery sort of finish to it and I was afraid the iron would do nasty things to it.

006

Happy birthday, Heidi!

STH

