Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

sunday-sevens-new-logo

Sunday Sevens is the brainchild of Natalie over at Threads and Bobbins.  It’s a weekly blog series in which we post seven-or-so pictures from our week, usually on Sunday, except if you’re me and it’s been one of those I’M RUNNING AS FAST AS I CAN kind of weeks.

Not much crafting this week, as I was house-sitting for my mother and sister while they took a trip to Oregon.  They’re both big-time gardeners and temps were still 100F and above, so there was much running around with watering cans and hoses.

They also have pets–this is Nigel, one of my sister’s little dogs:

003

Isn’t he a cutie?  And much less noisy than her other dog, who barked and growled at me THE ENTIRE TIME I was at her house.  He would finally stop when I left and closed the door behind me, then START UP AGAIN when he heard me put the key in the door to lock it.

Perhaps not the sharpest tool in the drawer.

My own few plants have been struggling in the heat, except for the basil:

001

You can’t really tell from this picture, but my basil plants are about a foot tall.  That’s a pot of oregano next to it (which is not as happy about the whole heat thing).

I did get one more block done on my scrap quilt; the center block here is called Carrie Nation.

002

Mid-morning Friday my partner and I headed out for our camping trip in Montana.  Here’s our tent all set up in Quartz Flat Campground, near the town of Superior.

These are Ponderosa Pines:

033

We actually arrived in the middle of a thunderstorm and had to wait in the car for it to pass before we could set up.

The forecast for Saturday was for temps in the 70s and 50% chance of rain.  Instead of that, it was chilly and rained all day; the planned whitewater rafting was shelved in favor of a trip to Missoula for breakfast.  Then our group of 11 split up and spent the day shopping and exploring.

After checking out the local bike shops, my honey and I did a little hiking around the campground.

024

And I took many, many pictures of moss and lichens.

011

029

On Sunday morning, it was still raining off and on and we were happy to head home out of the damp.  It was a fun trip, though, and the group we were with was full of interesting, quirky characters–just the kind of folks you want to sit around the campfire with.

Have a wonderful week, everybody, and I hope you have some good friends to spend it with.

STH

