Tags

,

Many things happening today–bread dough rising, butter softening for cookie-making, laundry spinning.  But I thought I’d share a few bits and pieces.

007

First, the bread is from my new favorite bread recipe.  I’ve really become a fan of Serious Eats recipes lately; they seem to be really well tested and much more reliable than those of most sites on the web.  Like the Cook’s Illustrated people, they are food obsessives and they tend to get things right.  That also means that their recipes are often a bit more labor-intensive than they probably need to be for us ordinary proles.  And the bread recipe has a lot of “do X, then let rest 5 minutes” instructions, which I sometimes find annoying.  So I sometimes ignore them, and the bread still turns out great.  And I prefer whole wheat bread, so I sub whole wheat flour for some of the white flour, and the recipe still turns out great.  And sometimes I have leftover whey sitting around, so I use that for some of the water, and the recipe still turns out great.

This is my kind of recipe, is what I’m saying.

Second, here is my first batch of Freecycle fabric!

005

Now, none of these were the kind of fabric I’m looking for to make pants with, but I liked them and my generous donor was happy to get rid of them, so I’m counting this as a win.  The red and the black floral are knits, and I pretty much live in knit tops, so those will get used.  The solid black fabric was described to me as a wool-blend crepe, which isn’t something I’ve worked with before.  It has a loose weave and is a bit see-through, so it will have to be lined; I’m pondering possible dresses to make with it.  (It’s super wide and there are almost 5 yards of it, so I may actually get more than one project out of it.)  The check is the real find, though; it’s a lovely wool-blend with stripes of black, turquoise, plum, and purple.  That will become a jacket, possibly to go over the black crepe dress.  Yay!

Third, I’m thinking I’m going to need to make some exercise clothes soon.  After years of inconsistent exercising, I decided last May to do my best to exercise an hour a day every day that I can manage it.  Yes, it’s a lot, but it’s what needs to happen if I’m going to manage my health problems and slow down their progression.  So that’s what I’ve been doing, with the very happy result that I’m shrinking out of my exercise clothes.  And I’m very slowly working on the Couch to 5k program, which means I now need running clothes, too.

The Big 4 pattern companies don’t seem to do much in the way of plus-size athletic clothes patterns, so who to go to?  Kwik-Sew?  If anybody has recommendations, I’d love to hear them!

