Tags

,

I’ve been thinking fall thoughts lately.  Well, it really started in the HEAT of August–I started longing for some cool fall weather.  Then I saw a reference to the Fall Essentials Sew-Along and thought this might be a good way to connect with the online sewing community (which I am new to) and motivate myself to get some fall sewing done.

Because I’m difficult that way, I am bending the rules to fit what I really need/want to get done.  My goals for the Sew-Along are to try to use exclusively fabrics from my stash and patterns that I already own (I expect some notions will have to be purchased, especially zippers, but I’m also going to try to use stash buttons), make some warm, layer-able clothes that are also professional-looking, and learn how to make pants for my rather unusual shape (and finally give up on crappy RTW pants that don’t fit me!)

So here’s my FESA plan (apologies for the crappy photos; I’m in a bit of a hurry):

1.  Fashionable Foundations for Frosty Weather

This is where the pants come in.  I’ve got two patterns I’m going to try.  First is this Colette slim pants pattern (I won it from Sew News magazine!  Which I am inordinately excited about!!  All the exclamation points!!!)

002

The striped fabric is what I’m going to have to use for my muslin, as it’s the only stretch fabric in my stash (yeah, I don’t get it either, but there it is).

I also have this Sandra Betzina pattern from Butterick; I’ve already made the blouse and that fit me well, so I thought I might take a chance with the pants.

003

The nasty cream cord is for the muslin, the nice black cord is for the for-reals pants.

2.  Chic Chemises for Cool Climates

First in line is this Butterick pattern which I think has some really nice detailing.  The fabric is a green linen-rayon with a lovely drape.  Not sure if I’m going to keep the slit in the sleeves–might be a bit chilly for here.

009

Next is a fleece pullover, which is a major wardrobe staple for me in the winter (have I mentioned it gets cold here?)  View E is what I have in mind for this fleece.

008

And here’s where I bend the rules.  I started a fleece cycling jersey for my partner last winter, then got insanely busy and didn’t finish it before the weather warmed up.  I need to finish that ASAP so that I know he’s warm and cozy out on his bike.

006

3.  Fabulous Frocks

I’m really looking forward to this one.  This fabric is (I think) a poly-rayon blend that I’ve had for years and it just has a gorgeous drape and beautiful weight to it.  And that color!  I’ve been so enjoying just looking at the fabric sitting in my sewing room these past few weeks while I pondered what to do with it.  I really like the long jumper in this pattern, and it should be so cozy worn over a turtleneck and tights.  I expect the fitting to be tricky, though.

004

More rule-bending on this one.  My sister gave me this rather shapeless dress after giving up on trying to fit it.  I don’t blame her one bit, as the fit on it is just weird (I think it was a Pavelka pattern, FWIW).  I want to try to re-cut it using this pattern.  It’ll be a bit of a challenge, but I just love the fabric and buttons and don’t want to give up on them.

005

6.  Those Cozy Nights

There are some who would have a problem with a plus-sized woman wearing flannel PJs with sleeping pigs on them.

I am not one of those people.

007

I am so looking forward to these.  Soft, colorful, and warm–three of my favorite things!

I’m ready to get sewing!  I have a project to get done first, though; I’m hoping to take care of that in the next week or so.

STH

